PM Modi to name 21 unnamed islands in Andaman and Nicobar on Monday

21 unnamed islands

Twenty-one major unnamed islands in Andaman and Nicobar will be named after Param Vir Chakra awardees at a ceremony attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi to celebrate Parakram Diwa on Monday. Prime Minister's Office (PMO) publication.

Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti is celebrated on 23rd January every year as "Parakram Diwas".

Considering the historical importance of Andaman and Nicobar Islands and honoring the memory of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, the Prime Minister renamed the Ross Islands as Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Dweep during his visit to the island in 2018. Neil Island and Havelock Island were also renamed Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep," the Prime Minister's Office said in a statement.

The Prime Minister, who will attend the naming ceremony at 11 am on Monday via video conference, will also unveil a model. of a national monument dedicated to Netaji to be built at Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep.

The largest unnamed island is named after the first Param Vir Chakra awardee, Major Somnath Sharma, who was killed on November 3, 1947 while repelling Pakistani invaders near Srinagar Airport. He was posthumously awarded the Param Vir Chakra for his bravery and sacrifices in the Battle of Badgam.

The second largest unnamed island is named after another Param Vir Chakra awardee Subedar and Hony Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh. He won his Param Vir Chakra during the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947, which was fought for control of the Tithwali sector.

The PMO said the move is part of the Prime Minister's efforts to honor the true heroes of the country.

"This step is an eternal tribute to our heroes, several of whom made the ultimate sacrifice to protect the sovereignty and integrity of the nation," said the Prime Minister.

The 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees, after whom the islands will be named are as follows:

Major Somnath Sharma; Subedar and Hony Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh, MM; 2nd Lt. Rama Raghoba Rane; Nayak Jadunath Singh; Company Havildar Major Piru Singh; Capt GS Salaria; Lieutenant Colonel (then Major) Dhan Singh Thapa; Subedar Joginder Singh; Major Shaitan Singh; CQMH. Abdul Hamid; Lt Col Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore; Lance Naik Albert Ekka; Major Hoshiar Singh; 2nd Lt. Arun Khetrapal; Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon; Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran; Naib Subedar Bana Singh; Captain Vikram Batra; Lt Manoj Kumar Pandey; Subedar Major (then RifleMan) Sanjay Kumar; and Subedar Major Retd (Hony Captain) Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav.

Related Topics

Share this story